Incumbents Win Reelection to Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council

The four incumbent candidates in yesterday's Mashpee Wampanoag Tribal Council election were reelected to another one-year term.

Tribal members cast ballots at the Quashnet School on Sunday afternoon to elect four representatives to the seven seat council. According to a news release, voter turnout of 513 set a record for a non-officer election.

Incumbent Carlton Hendricks Jr. received the most votes -- 246 , followed by Cheryl Frye-Cromwell with 225, Yvonne  Avant with 215, and Winnie Johnson-Graham with 213.


Challengers Winona Pocknett,  Aaron Tobey Jr., Robyn Tobey-Stamps, and Laverne Jackson failed to finish among the the top four vote getters.


No comments yet.
Please sign in and be the first one to comment.