Bourne's Sturtevant Wins GM Of The Year Award

Bourne General Manager Chuck Sturtevant was named the 2014 GM of the Year by the Cape League.COURTESY CCBL - Bourne General Manager Chuck Sturtevant was named the 2014 GM of the Year by the Cape League.

Cape Cod Baseball League president Judy Walden Scarafile presented Bourne Braves general manager Chuck Sturtevant with the John Wylde General Manager of the Year Award prior to the Braves’ first-round game of the Cape Cod Baseball League playoffs between Bourne and Cotuit on Thursday, August 7.

An integral part of the league for 28 years, first with the Falmouth Commodores and later with the league itself, Sturtevant stepped in to fill the role of general manager for the Braves in 2012.

“I was shocked I received the award,” Sturtevant said. “I was just doing my job. I love what I do and wouldn’t be doing it if I didn’t enjoy it. My family is very supportive of what I do as well, and know how much the Cape League means to me.


“John Wylde really helped make the (Cape League) the best league possible, so getting an award that is named after him is a real honor for me.”

Sturtevant has helped run several Cape League all-star games during his tenure, and brought his knowledge and expertise to this year’s Friendly’s All-Star Game, which the Braves hosted at Doran Park for the first time in franchise history.

But what matters most to Sturtevant has always been the players. Among Sturtevant’s favorite things is watching his players on the field—and watching some of them get inducted into the Cape League Hall of Fame.

Sturtevant is the first Bourne GM to be recognized with this award, adding to the franchise’s numerous accomplishments this season. The award is named after the late John Wylde, former general manager and president of the Wareham Gatemen. Wylde’s dedication to both the Gatemen and the Cape League was unparalleled. The award is given to a general manager who demonstrates the qualities and dedication Wylde possessed.

The Braves finished the regular season as the West Division champions and earned the President’s Trophy, given each year to the team with the most points overall.


No comments yet.
Please sign in and be the first one to comment.