Field For The 2014 Falmouth Mile

A top notch women’s field will take to the Kalperis Track tomorrow night, August 16, at Falmouth High School with hopes of claiming the 2014 Falmouth Mile championship.

Morgan Uceny, a 2012 Olympian ranked number one in the world in 2011 at 1,500 meters, and Gabriele Grunewald, the reigning USA Indoor Champion at 3,000 meters, are the marquee names among the female competitors that will be showcased at FHS tomorrow evening.

On the men’s side, David Torrence, a three-time USA Road Mile Champion, as well as the 2012 Falmouth Mile Champion, and Ben True, a five-time USA road-race champion, who last year was runner-up in the New Balance Falmouth Road Race, headline the field.

The Falmouth Mile, which also includes wheelchair and youth miles as well as the Tommy Cochary High School Mile, will begin at 5 PM tomorrow evening, with free admission to the general public.


Owning the meet records are 2011 winner Jordan McNamara (3:54.89) and 2002 champion Suzy Favor Hamilton (4:25.27). Winners of the event, which began in 1995, have also included Kevin Sullivan, Jonathon Riley, Jason Pyrah, Brenda Martinez, Carrie Tollefson, and Juli Henner.

In his 2011 victory, McNamara led the way for 10 men to break four minutes. He returns this year, as do 2009 Falmouth Mile champion Will Leer, who last month ran a personal best 3:51.82 at the Morton Games Mile in Dublin, Ireland, to break a 34-year-old meet record; and Garrett Heath, the 2013 USA Road Mile Champion.

They will be challenged by Donn Cabral, a 2012 Olympic steeplechase finalist; Kyle Merber, whose 3:35.59 in 2012 is the fastest collegiate 1,500 meters ever run by an American; Cory Leslie, who holds records in several states for the fastest mile run on their soil; and Danny Stockberger, who had an All-American career at the University of Indiana.

Making his mile debut on the track will be Sam Chelanga, a four-time NCAA champion and NCAA 10,000-meter record-holder who trains with True in Hanover, New Hampshire.

On the women’s side, Uceny and Grunewald will meet Katie Mackey, the Falmouth Mile defending champion and a seven-time NCAA All-American, and Sarah Brown, a four-time NCAA champion who won the 2014 Harry Jerome Mile in a personal record 4:26.67.

Those four will face Brie Felnagle, the 2007 NCAA Champion at 1,500 meters; Amanda Eccleston, a 2013 NCAA Indoor Champion in the distance medley and 2014 USATF Outdoor Nationals finalist at 1,500 meters; Stephanie Garcia, who finished third in the 3,000-meter steeplechase at the 2014 USATF Outdoor Nationals; Aisha Praught, who placed fourth in the same event; and Australia’s Heidi Gregson, the 2014 national championships runner-up at 1,500 meters.


No comments yet.
Please sign in and be the first one to comment.