The Bourne Town Clerk’s office has announced the dates relative to the town’s annual election in May. The timeline released by Town Clerk Barry H. Johnson includes when nomination papers will be available for candidates, filing deadlines, and voter registration dates.

People seeking election for town office will be able to pull nomination papers as of Tuesday, February 18. The last day to pull nomination papers will be Friday, March 27.

Nominees will have until Tuesday, April 14 to file papers with the town clerk’s office. The last day for nominees to have their name removed from the ballot will be Thursday, April 16.

Residents will have until April 29 to register to vote in Bourne.

The annual town election is scheduled for Tuesday, May 19.

Incumbents whose terms are up this year include Town Moderator Donald J. Pickard and Selectwoman Judith M. Froman, who chairs the board of selectmen. The town moderator is elected annually. A selectman’s term is for three years.

Three current members of the Bourne Planning Board are up for reelection this year: Jeanne L. Azarovitz, M. Elizabeth Brown and Sandra E. Goldstein. All three are in their first terms on the board.

There is a fourth seat on the planning board up for election. That is the seat vacated by former member William F. Grant, who resigned from the board last September.

The Bourne School Committee also has three members up for reelection. They are Mitchell D. McClain, Steven P. Strojny, and Erin S. Perry. Ms. Perry was just recently appointed to the school committee to fill a vacant seat due to the resignation of Jennifer L. O’Neil.

Two members of the Bourne Board of Health are up for reelection. They are longtime chairwoman Kathleen M. Peterson and member Stanley D. Andrews.

Other incumbents whose terms are up this year include Frederic M. Bartholomew on the Bourne Housing Authority; Gregory A. Folino, chairman of the Bourne Recreation Authority; Stephanie G. Kelly and Cynthia Barry on the board of trustees for the Jonathan Bourne Public Library; and Christopher J. Farrell as veteran representative on the board of trustees for the Bourne Veterans Memorial Community Center.

There is also a vacant seat to be filled on the community center board of trustees for a non-veteran representative.

The town clerk’s office also announced that this year’s Annual Town Meeting has been scheduled for Monday, May 4, and Tuesday, May 5. A Special Town Meeting has been scheduled for Monday, May 4.

Residents have until Tuesday, April 14, to register to vote at Annual Town Meeting. The deadline to register to vote in the Special Town Meeting is Friday, April 24.

The town clerk’s office also announced that it will hold early voting for the 2020 Massachusetts Presidential Primary. The primary election is scheduled for Tuesday, March 3. Massachusetts is one of 14 states holding primaries on what is known nationally as Super Tuesday.

Bourne will hold early voting from Monday, February 24, through Friday, February 28, from 8:30 AM to 4:30 PM at Bourne Town Hall.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.