Bourne Vote Box 2020

Bourne voters turned out in force on Election Day, Tuesday, November 3.

The unofficial total voter count as of 9:20 PM on Tuesday, according to the Bourne Town Clerk’s office, was 11,326 ballots cast. That represented 75.4 percent of Bourne's 15,021 registered voters, the town clerk's office reported.

In the presidential election between incumbent Donald J. Trump and former Vice President Joseph R. Biden Jr., Bourne flipped from four years ago, when the town went for Mr. Trump. Results from Tuesday night showed Mr. Biden leading 53.14 percent to 44.6 percent.

The race for the US Senate went to incumbent Massachusetts Senator Edward J. Markey. Bourne residents chose Mr. Markey over challenger Kevin J. O'Connor by a margin of 53.26 percent to 46.06 percent.

In the race for the Massachusetts 9th Congressional District seat, Bourne voters stuck close to home, choosing incumbent William R. Keating (D-Bourne) over GOP rival Helen Brady. Rep. Keating won 6,525, or 59.39 percent, of the ballots cast in Bourne. Ms. Brady won 4,235, or 38.55 percent, of the votes cast.

Another 9th District contender, Michael Manley, earned 220, or 2 percent, of the ballots cast.

The contest for the Plymouth and Barnstable Senate seat was close. In Bourne, Plymouth attorney James R. McMahon edged incumbent Susan L. Moran (D-West Falmouth) 50.05 percent to 49.89 percent. However, Sen. Moran won the overall race 55 percent to 45 percent, despite winning only two of the district's six towns.

Ms. Moran keeps the seat she won last May in a special election to replace former state Senator Viriato M. (Vinny) deMacedo (R-Plymouth). Mr. deMacedo stepped down to take a position at Bridgewater State University in October 2019.

Republican Steven G. Xiarhos of West Barnstable won the race for the 5th Barnstable District House seat over his Democratic opponent, James J. Dever of Sandwich. In Bourne, Mr. Xiarhos took 53.65 percent, or 2,885, of the votes cast in the three Bourne precincts. Mr. Dever took 46.31 percent, or 2,490, of the votes.

Town Clerk Barry H. Johnson said the Tuesday night numbers were unofficial results and that updates would be posted throughout the afternoon on Wednesday, November 4.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.