Bourne Candidates Night Wednesday May 11, 2016

Christopher Farrell

A familiar face is looking to make a return to the Bourne Planning Board. Former board chairman Christopher J. Farrell has taken out and returned nomination papers for the race to fill one of three seats up for grabs in May’s annual town election.

Mr. Farrell is assured of one of the three seats, as there are only three people who have entered the race. The other two are incumbents Daniel L. Doucette and John G. Carroll. Current board chairman Steven P. Strojny, who is up for reelection this year, has decided not to run.

Mr. Farrell served on the planning board for more than 14 years and was chairman for nine of those years before being voted off the board in 2016.

The deadline to return nomination papers was Tuesday, March 30. The most competitive race in this year’s election will be for two seats on the board of selectmen. Incumbents James L. Potter and Jared P. MacDonald face challenges from finance committee Chairwoman Mary Jane Mastrangelo, planning board member Sandra E. Goldstein and former Dennis selectwoman and now Bourne resident Jane A. Dumas-Otis.

Other competitive races in this year’s election include the run to fill former board of health chairwoman Kathleen M. Peterson’s seat. Ms. Peterson died in January and had two years remaining in her tenure.

Buzzards Bay residents Barbara Princiotta and William W. Meier are both running for that seat on the board. In March, the board of selectmen and the board of health appointed Ms. Princiotta to fill Ms. Peterson’s vacant seat at least through the town election.

Health board incumbents Galon L. (Skip) Barlow and Donald C. Uitti are both up for reelection and face no challengers for their seats.

Mr. Meier is also the lone candidate running for the nonveteran seat on the board of trustees for the Bourne Veterans Memorial Community Center. Town Clerk Barry H. Johnson said there is no candidate for the veteran seat on the board, so that position will be filled by a write-in vote.

Another race to watch is the one to fill two seats on the recreation authority. Incumbent George M. Sala is one of four people vying for a seat; the other candidates include planning board member Louis R. Gallo and residents John H. Coulumbe and Christopher M. McCarthy.

Five people are running for two seats on the board of trustees for the Jonathan Bourne Public Library. They include Susan M. Barlow, Linda Dupuis, Nancy C. Selchan, Susan K. Schmidt and Jacqueline A. Tardiff.

Incumbent Paul D. McMaster and newcomer Kari D. MacRae are running for the two seats available on the school committee. Other candidates running unopposed include former zoning board of appeals Chairwoman Amy B. Kullar for town moderator, Mr. Johnson for town clerk and Thomas Spence for the housing authority.

Mr. Johnson said that the last day for anyone to withdraw and not have their name on the ballot is by 5 PM on Thursday, April 15. The last day to register to vote in the town election is Wednesday, April 28. The annual town election is scheduled for Tuesday, May 18.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.