Judith Froman Reelected To Board Of Selectmen

Judith M. Froman

Residents of Bourne chose to stay with the status quo in this year’s Annual Town Election. All of the incumbents in the three contested races in the election emerged victorious.

Bourne voters on Tuesday, June 23, reelected the chairwoman of the board of selectmen, Judith M. Froman, to her seat on the board. Ms. Froman prevailed against a challenge posed by Buzzards Bay resident Gary O. Maloney Jr. The two were the only candidates in the race for the one available seat on the selectman board.

Ms. Froman received 943 votes to Mr. Maloney’s 602. That translated to a winning percentage of 61 percent.

Ms. Froman said she was “humbled and honored to be elected to continue working for Bourne on the board of selectmen and sewer commissioners.” She thanked those who cast their vote in her favor for showing confidence in her ability as a board member.

She added her deep appreciation for town employees, board and committee volunteers, the candidates who ran as well as those who exercised their right to vote, and those residents who voice their opinion on issues the town faces.

“It is an ever-changing dynamic with a multitude of priorities and challenges,” she said. “It is an opportunity to strive to bring out the best in people and to make things ever-better despite the naysayers. It is democracy at work!”

Town Clerk Barry H. Johnson reported that 1,590 of the town’s registered 14,520 voters cast ballots, for a voter turnout percentage of 10.95. Last year’s election drew 1,571 registered voters, while the 2018 election saw 1,912 ballots cast. Three years ago, in 2017, a total of 1,102 registered voters went to the polls.

Voters also went for the incumbents in the race for three seats on the Bourne Planning Board. Residents returned member Jeanne L. Azarovitz, M. Elizabeth Brown and Sandra E. Goldstein to the board. Ms. Brown was the top vote-getter with 906 votes, followed by Ms. Azarovitz with 904 and Ms. Goldstein with 800.

The other two candidates in that race were William W. (Dusty) Meier and Louis C. Bryant, Jr. Mr. Meier earned 688 votes, while Mr. Bryant won 556 votes.

Mr. Meier is the father of Bourne Selectman Peter J. Meier. The younger Mr. Meier issued a statement following released of the results congratulating all the incumbents. He also acknowledged it was a difficult election year, given concerns over COVID-19.

“No candidate forums etc., and no one allowed to canvass at the post office,” he said.

Tuesday’s election was rescheduled from its original date of May 19 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Residents also returned Gregory A. Folino to the board of directors for the Bourne Recreation Authority. Mr. Folino won a decisive victory over challengers William T. Morrissey III and Christopher McCarthy. The longtime member of the board won 800 votes to Mr. McCarthy’s 450 and Mr. Morrissey’s 223.

There were several uncontested races in this year’s election.

Donald J. Pickard was re-elected as town moderator.

Kathleen M. Peterson and Stanley D. Andrews were both returned to their seats on the Bourne Board of Health.

Three seats were available on the Bourne School Committee, and there were only three candidates. Incumbent Steven P. Strojny was reelected. Erin S. Perry was appointed to the committee in January to fill a seat vacated with the resignation of Jennifer O’Neill. Ms. O’Neill’s seat on the committee was up this year. Ryan A. Bagdonas was elected to her first term on the committee.

Planning board member David B. O’Connor was the only candidate running for his two-year seat on the board. Mr. O’Connor was appointed to the board last November to fill the seat vacated when William F. Grant retired.

Mr. Grant’s term was until 2022, so Mr. O’Connor needed to be elected in the first general election following his appointment.

Christopher J. Farrell was reelected to his post as veteran representative on the board of trustees for the Bourne Veterans Memorial Community Center. The non-veteran representative seat on the board was open, but no candidate emerged.

Frederic Bartholomew was reelected to the Bourne Housing Authority.

Kathleen F. Alfano was elected to her first term on the board of trustees for the Jonathan Bourne Public Library. There were two seats available on the board, but Ms. Alfano was the only candidate on the ballot.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.