Falmouth selectmen appointed five members to the new transportation management committee on Monday, January 13, expanding the size of the advisory board from seven to nine members.

As initially proposed, the transportation management committee would feature four at large members and representatives from the bicycle and pedestrian committee, planning board and historical commission.

“As far as committee designees, I think it was a very significant oversight to not ask for there to be a designee from the disabilities commission,” chairwoman Megan E. English Braga said. “I don’t know how you have a good transportation management committee if you don’t have that direct coordination with disabilities.”

Adding a designee from the commission on disabilities increased the size of the transportation management committee to eight people. In order to preserve an odd number of committee members, the board increased the number of at large representatives to five.

Five people applied for at large membership on the committee. The board appointed Edward J. DeWitt and Alison S. Leschen to terms ending June 30, 2022, John J. Keenan and Jane F. Perry to terms ending June 30, 2021, and Ralph E. Herbst to a term ending June 30, 2020.

Paul C. Dreyer will serve as the planning board’s representative, while Chris McGuire will serve as the representative from the bicycle and pedestrian committee. The historical commission will appoint its designee at its February meeting.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.