A three-way competition for two seats on the Mashpee Board of Selectmen will be the only contested race on the ballot at the Mashpee town election scheduled for Saturday, May 8, at the Quashnet Elementary School gymnasium.

Incumbents John J. Cotton and Thomas F. O’Hara will face a challenge from Marie A. Stone, a member of the Mashpee Wampanoag Tribe, for the two three-year seats on the board.

For school committee, Matthew J. Davis and Brian Weeden, both newcomers, are on the ballot for two three-year seats.

Incumbent planning board members Dennis H. Balzarini and Mary E. Waygan are seeking reelection to two three-year seats.

Robert W. Hansen is running for reelection for a three-year term as an associate member of the planning board.

For the board of library trustees, Ann M. MacDonald and Joan F. Lyons will seek reelection to two three-year seats.

Mohamad Fahd is the lone person on the ballot for a two-year seat on the housing authority.

Ronald Gangemi is seeking reelection to a three-year term on the board of water commissioners.

The election will also include a ballot question that will ask voters to pass a debt exclusion to exempt the costs of constructing a sewer system and treatment center for the first phase of the town’s nitrogen and wastewater management plan from Proposition 2½.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.